Thread: question regarding associated 4.6 engine

Angry Question regarding Associated 4.6 engine

I'm definately not new to rc world but I am new to the 4.6 engine in my monster gt, I had the first one when it came out and the truck was awesome, so now I got a new monster gt 4.6 bought it brand new only roughly couple months old, my question is are the 4.6 engines finiky or am I missing something I just got it back together and went out to run it and this engine was a pita to tune wouldnt hold an idle would get up to speed for nothing, now I have multiple 1/8 scale buggies and truggies and no plroblems at all with them so I know its not my nitro tuning skills been doing nitro for over 15yrs but this engine is puzzling me, I've checked everything on this engine for leaks and sealed the back plate, carb neck, even the pinch bolt (read the sticky on here regarding checking for air leaks) and to no avail this engine still fights me, one thing I did notice is on the chassis under the flywheel and cb there is alot of blackish oil residue from flinging off the flywheel, is this my bearing seal gone bad already and thats where I could be having a air leak? If so this sucks this engine doesnt even have a gallon of nitro through it. I mean it is what it is, just ranting lol. Well if I keep having trouble with this engine I'll just pull it and stick a OS engine in it, thats all I run in my other nitros and I'm a big fan of OS engines the engines have always treated me good, but never this much of a headache, I spent 3hrs today running my monster gt trying to get it tuned properly, I do know after I broke it in when I first got it, it ran awesome and now I have no idea what went wrong. I still love my truck tho.
    Last edited by Jedac; 10-16-2012 at 10:06 PM.

Silver Level BYT Member cbaker65's Avatar

Default Re: question regarding associated 4.6 engine

Wow,The 4.6 is or was the easiest to tune....